Discover. Connect. Capitalize.

Speakers Bureau View

59 Profile Views - 9 Presentation Views

SA Ahmed Sherif

University of Florida



Google or Google Scholar for SA Ahmed Sherif


Expert Profile
Dr. S.A. Sherif is a tenured Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and is the Founding Director of the Wayne K. and Lyla L. Masur HVAC Laboratory, the Director of the Industrial Assessment Center and the Director of the Mobile Energy Laboratory at the University of Florida. He served as Co-Director of the Southeastern Center for Industrial Energy Intensity Reduction at the University of Florida (2009-2013). He also served on the faculties of the University of Florida (1991-present), University of Miami (1987-1991), and Northern Illinois University (1984-1987). He is a Life Fellow of ASME, a Life Fellow of ASHRAE, a Fellow of the Royal Aeronautical Society, an Associate Fellow of AIAA, a Vice President of Commission B-2 on Refrigerating Equipment and a Member of Commission B-1 on Thermodynamics and Transfer Processes of the International Institute of Refrigeration, a Member of the Advisory Board of Directors of the International Association for Hydrogen Energy, and a Founding Member of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers (ASTFE). He is the 2013-2014 Chair of the ASME Heat Transfer Division Executive Committee (2009-2016) and a member of the ASME’s Basic Engineering Group Operating Board (2010-2014). He is also the 2002-2003 Chair of the ASME Advanced Energy Systems Division, and a past chair of the K-19 Committee on Environmental Heat Transfer of the ASME Heat Transfer Division (2003-2007), the Coordinating Group on Fluid Measurements (1992-1994) and the Fluid Applications and Systems Technical Committee (2008-2010) of the ASME Fluids Engineering Division. He is also a past chair of the Steering Committee of the Intersociety Energy Conversion Engineering Conference (2001-2003), ASHRAE’s Standards Project Committee 41.6 on Measurement of Moist Air Properties (1989-1994), and ASHRAE’s TC1.1 Committee on Thermodynamics and Psychrometrics (2012-2013). He also served as a member of the ASME’s Energy Resources Board (2001-2003) and was the Board’s representative to the ASME’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress Committee (2003-2006). He was the Head of the Refrigeration Section of ASHRAE (2004-2008), the Technical Conference Chair of both the 2008 ASME Summer Heat Transfer Conference and the 12th AIAA/ASME Thermophysics and Heat Transfer Conference (2018), a member of the ASME Frank Kreith Energy Award Selection Committee (2005-2011), and the General Conference Chair of the 2013 ASME Summer Heat Transfer Conference. He also served as the Technical Conference Co-Chair of the 2nd ASTFE Thermal and Fluids Engineering Conference (2017) and the Techical Discipline Chair of the 2019 AIAA Aviation and Aeronautics Forum and the 2020 AIAA Science and Technology Forum. Dr. Sherif is currently serving as an ABET Program Evaluator (PEV) in Mechanical Engineering (2019-2024).

Dr. Sherif currently serves as Editor-in-Chief of the ASME Journal of Solar Energy Engineering (1/1/2020-1/1/2025). He also served as Editor-in-Chief of the ASME Journal of Thermal Science and Engineering Applications (1/1/2014-6/30/2019). He currently serves as Subject Editor of Solar Energy (2004-present), and a Subject Editor Emeritus of the International Journal of Hydrogen Energy (2011-present). He is a past Associate Technical Editor of the ASME Journal of Heat Transfer (2007-2011) and the ASME Journal of Thermal Science and Engineering Applications (2011-2014). He is also a past Subject Editor of the International Journal of Hydrogen Energy (2005-2010) and a past Book Review Editor of ASME’s Applied Mechanics Reviews (2001-2008). He is on the editorial boards of 30 other thermal science journals such as Applied Thermal Engineering, Heat Transfer – Asian Research, the International Journal of Exergy, and the International Journal of Energy for a Clean Environment. He has served as member or chair of over 60 administrative and technical committees in five professional societies, 350 conference organizing or scientific committees, and as chair or member of over 265 master’s and doctoral committees. Dr. Sherif has given over 150 invited lectures worldwide. He is the recipient of the E.K. Campbell Award of Merit from ASHRAE in 1997 for “outstanding service and achievement in teaching” and a “TIP” teaching award from the University of Florida in 1998. In 2000, 2004, and 2007, he was selected by the University of Florida as an Anderson/CLAS Scholar Faculty Honoree. He is the recipient of the 2001 Kuwait Prize in Applied Sciences, a Heat Transfer Division 75th Anniversary Medal (2013), an ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award (2003), an ASHRAE Exceptional Service Award (2010), and two Best Paper Awards from AIAA (2005) and ASME (2005). He is the recipient of three “Certificates of Recognition for Research Contributions” from NASA, a Premium of Academic Excellence (PACE) Award from Iowa State University, four research awards from the University of Miami, and a “Graduate Research and Artistry Award” from Northern Illinois University. He has received certificates of appreciation from the ASME Board of Governors, Heat Transfer Division, Solar Energy Division, Advanced Energy Systems Division, Fluids Engineering Division, ASME’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress Committee, the Japan Society of Mechanical Engineers (JSME), ASHRAE, AIAA, ASTFE, and numerous conference organizing committees. In 2007, he received a Superior Accomplishment Award from the University of Florida’s Office of the Provost. In 2008, he was elected as an ASHRAE Distinguished Lecturer. In 2018, he was awarded a UF Research Foundation Term Professorship (2018-2021). Dr. Sherif has 135 refereed journal papers, one book, 20 published bound volumes, 24 book chapters, 155 conference papers, 190 technical reports, and two US patents.

© 1999-2022, State of Florida